How To Become a Travel Agent In Florida: Step-by-Step Guide

Any individual or corporation that offers travel-related services in Florida must get a seller of travel license from the Florida Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services. The state’s official licensing material, statutes, and regulations clarify that the “seller of travel license” is needed under “seller of travel law,” but for people who operate in the state’s travel business, it’s more frequently known as the travel agent license.

Before submitting your seller of travel/travel agency license application to the Florida Department of Agricultural and Consumer Services, you must complete the following procedures. Your travel seller/travel agency license will be valid for one year from the date of registration.

How can I obtain a Florida travel agency license?

Step 1: Fill up your trip registration seller application form

If you are a travel agent working for a travel agency or business and need a general seller of travel license, you must fill out a Sellers of Travel Registration Application (FDACS-10200). You must fill out a Sellers of Travel Independent Sales Agents Application (FDACS-10211) if you are an independent travel agent.

If you have been contracted with the Airlines Reporting Commission (ARC) for three years or longer under the same ownership and control, you may be eligible for a registration exemption. To get licensed, however, you must present a declaration of exemption granted by the FDAC. You must have been contracted with the ARC for 5 years or more under the same ownership if you provide vacation vouchers.

Step 2: Submit any additional documents that is requested.

If you or your travel agency sell vacation vouchers, you must complete the following steps.

All 16 documents mentioned in Florida Statutes Chapter 559.9295 in 2022. If any of these papers change, you must resubmit them for approval.
A copy of the vacation certificate disclosure contract required by Florida Statutes Chapter 559.932 in 2022.
Pay an extra $100 charge.
Student Tour Operators are a type of supplier of travel that provides tour-related services to or within an educational community. If you or your travel agency provide these services, you must also meet the following conditions.

Registration form for student tour operators
Proof of registration as a travel agent
A minimum of $1,000,000 in general liability insurance coverage is required.
Professional liability insurance of at least $1,000,000 is required.
For less than four employees, workers compensation coverage of at least $50,000 is required, as is confirmation of exemption.
Keep your level 2 security clearance current.

Step 3: Determine the amount of your needed surety bond

As part of the licensing procedure, the Florida Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services requires a seller of travel surety bond to be submitted. The amount of your bond is decided by whether you supply vacation vouchers and your yearly total sales.

If you are a new business, have new ownership, or have had the same ownership for at least a year and have less than $500,000 in gross sales, a $10,000 seller of travel bond is necessary.
If you DO NOT provide vacation certificates and/or have the same ownership for at least a year with total sales between $500,000 and $1,000,000, a $15,000 seller of travel bond is required.
If you DO NOT provide vacation certificates and/or have the same ownership for at least a year with total sales between $1,000,000 and $2,000,000, a $20,000 seller of travel bond is required.
If you DO NOT provide vacation certificates and do not qualify for a reduced bond level, a $25,000 seller of travel bond is necessary.
If you sell vacation certificates, you must have a $50,000 seller of travel bond.

Step 4: Get your Florida travel seller surety bond

Once you’ve decided your bond amount, you may apply for your Florida seller of travel bond online 24 hours a day, seven days a week. To determine price on these bonds, an application must be reviewed quickly.

The yearly cost of a $10,000 sale of travel bonds begins at $100.
The annual cost of a $15,000 seller’s travel bond begins at $150.
The yearly cost of a $20,000 sale of travel bonds begins at $200.
The yearly cost of a $25,000 sale of travel bonds begins at $250.
The yearly cost of a $50,000 sale of travel bonds begins at $500.

Step 5: Submit your documentation and pay any applicable costs

After completing your application package and purchasing your official Florida seller of travel bond, you may apply for your travel agent license by submitting your travel agent application, fees, and supporting documentation.

Tallahassee, FL 32399-0800 Florida Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services Plaza Level 10, The Capitol 400 S. Monroe St.

If your application includes any problems, the FDACS will contact you within 30 days of receiving it.

When appropriate, you must pay the nonrefundable travel agency license costs listed below.

Fee Type Fee Amount
Vacation certificate document submission $100
Independent sales agent filing $50
Registration $300

Leave a Comment